Mission + History
Leadership Team

Tom Bakaly

Chief Executive Officer

Tom.Bakaly@bchd.org

Phone: 310-374-3426 ext. 118

Mr. Bakaly was named CEO of Beach Cities Health District in November 2016 and is responsible for managing $90 million in assets, 170 employees and more than 600 volunteers.

William Kim, M.D.

Chief Medical Advisor

William.Kim@bchd.org

Phone: 310-374-3426 ext. 213

Dr. Kim, MD, provides medical oversight for all research, programming and community services at BCHD and serves as the primary spokesperson on public health matters.

Jackie Berling

Chief Wellness Officer

Jackie.Berling@bchd.org

Phone: 310-374-3426 ext. 145

Mrs. Berling, MBA, oversees operations for Beach Cities Health District’s community health facilities, the Center for Health & Fitness and AdventurePlex, as well as employee wellness programming.

Monica Suua

Chief Financial Officer

Monica.Suua@bchd.org

Phone: 310-374-3426 ext. 210

Mrs. Suua, CPA, is responsible for managing all District finances, including operating budgets, monthly financial reports and annual audits, and serves as the primary liaison to the Finance Committee.

Kerianne Lawson

Director of Lifespan Services

Kerianne.Lawson@bchd.org

Phone: 310-374-3426 ext. 133

Mrs. Lawson, LCSW, MSG, manages all community health departments and staff, including Youth Services, Blue Zones Project and Community Services.

Cristan Higa

Director of Communications

Cristan.Higa@bchd.org

Phone: 310-374-3426 ext. 117

Ms. Higa is responsible for managing all internal and external communications efforts at Beach Cities Health District, including public relations, community engagement, I.T. and marketing.

Megan Vixie

Director of Human Resources

Megan.Vixie@bchd.org

Phone: 310-374-3426 ext. 137

Mrs. Vixie, MPA, leads all human resource functions, including personnel and performance management, employee policies, compensation and benefits, safety/risk management and volunteer services.

Leslie Dickey

Executive Director of Real Estate

Leslie.Dickey@bchd.org

Phone: 310-374-3426 ext. 274

Mr. Dickey directs the design and construction of public sector capital programs, including entitlement processing, environmental impact reports, construction management and post-occupancy services.